Cannabis Regulators

Regulations for various cannabis licenses

On July 13, 2021, California’s three state cannabis licensing authorities – the Bureau of Cannabis Control (BCC), CDFA’s CalCannabis Cultivation Licensing, and CDPH’s Manufactured Cannabis Safety Branch – consolidated to form the Department of Cannabis Control (the “DCC” or “Department”).

With the creation of a single point-of-contact, the DCC has begun the process of streamlining licensing and regulations. The Office of Administrative Law (OAL) has approved the Department’s action to move the commercial cannabis regulations of the BCC, the California Department of Food and Agriculture, and the Department of Public Health into one central location in the California Code of Regulations (CCR). 

The consolidated regulations can now be found at CCR, title 4, division 19, sections 15000 through 17999.

For Cannabis Manufacturing licenses.

Formerly regulated by The California Department of Public Health’s Manufactured Cannabis Safety Branch (MCSB).